In an ideal world I would be hopping across the channel at least once a month to get my fix of all things French. However, the reality is that months often elapse between visits and I find myself seeking out French corners of my home city to satisfy my needs.

This process is what led me to start my Instagram account, a documentation of my quest to find little pieces of Paris without having to get on the Eurostar. Happily there are many French gems dotted around London and I thought I would share my favourites with you here…

La Crêperie

The smallest place on my list, La Crêperie, is a Hampstead institution. In situ since 1980, this little van serves the best crêpes this side of Calais. There is always a queue but I think the waiting makes the crêpes taste all the better. Light, buttery and flaky on the outside and laden with melting fillings, these make number one on my list of French treats in London. There is a good selection of both savoury and sweet options but I nearly always go for the mushroom, garlic, cheese and ham. Delicious!

IMG_1438
Well worth queuing for

For more information click here

Le Relais de Venise L’Entrecôte

The first trip away that my husband and I took was to Paris (bien sûr!) We followed the advice of a lovely French friend of mine and headed for Porte-Maillot to join the queue for Le Relais de Venise. We were uncharacteristically patient (it was the early days in our relationship so probably spent far too much time gazing into each other’s eyes to notice!) Thank goodness we were happy to wait though as an hour later we were transported to food heaven. There is one thing on the menu at Le Relais: steak-frites. The only choice you have is how you want it cooked. The starter is always the same, a beautiful fresh green salad with walnuts and a sublime French dressing. Then comes the pièce de résistance, thinly sliced steak smothered in the most incredible sauce (a secret recipe but we still ask every time!) with piles of crisp-on-the-outside-fluffy-in-the-middle French fries. The best bit? Once you have finished, the second half having been kept piping hot, is served to you… with more fries! ‘But this blog post is supposed to be about London!’ I hear you exclaim. Well, happily there are now four branches of Le Relais in London (interestingly there is still only one in Paris!) The Marylebone one is the original and still my favourite. Once you have stepped through the door you are transported straight to the heart of Paris.

IMG_5178
Steak-frites with the ‘secret sauce’

http://www.relaisdevenise.com

Brasserie Zédel

Corbin and King are ace restaurateurs with many perfectly crafted venues in their repertoire. My favourite has to be Brasserie Zédel. A self-styled ‘grand Parisian brasserie’ this enormous underground restaurant sits below Piccadilly, an out of sight slice of Paris disguised with an innocuous cafe entrance. Once through the curtain and down the sweeping stair case, it is hard to believe you are still in London. With the Bar Américain and The Crazy Coqs Bar and Cabaret (perfect pre and post dinner options) there are many reasons to visit this fine establishment. If you are early for your table (or arrive sans reservation) then I highly recommend a quick aperitif at the bar inside the restaurant. The classic champagne cocktail would be my choice every time. Once seated, the restaurant has a buzz and ambience to match any of Paris’s finest and the efficiency and pride of the staff makes the experience all the more authentic. The Pris Fixe menus are incredibly good value – you’d be hard pressed to find better in Zone 1. Twice a year Brasserie Zédel invite you to dine for free in honour of La Fête des Rois and Bastille Day. All you need to do is dress according to the occasion (as a king or queen or in your Breton and beret respectively). What a fantastic excuse to dress up and dine!

IMG_5806
King and Queen for the day!

https://www.brasseriezedel.com

Colbert

At the risk of being repetitive, another of Corbin and King’s restaurants has made it on to my list. Moving across to the tres chic Sloane Square, Colbert is nestled in the corner, a classy yet relaxed neighbourhood restaurant ‘inspired by the great French pavement cafés’. My favourite time of day to visit Colbert is either around midday (for a late breakfast or very early lunch) or after ten for a late night supper with friends. The chopped chicken salad is a reason to visit all by itself and the wine list offers some excellent choices. Colbert is one of those places where you can dine alone without feeling in any way conspicuous, quite the opposite in fact.

IMG_6055
The perfect lunch spot

https://www.colbertchelsea.com

Le Coq Epicier

A little bit closer to home sits Le Coq Epicier. Tucked away in Camden Passage, this small but very well stocked grocers calls to mind the delights of La Grande Epicerie de Paris. Offering many of France’s finest exports, from buttery crisp Petits beurre Bretons to perfectly ripe and creamy Brie de Meaux, this is a great place to come when you need to immerse yourself in all things French.

IMG_5400
Monsieur LP making his choices

http://www.lecoqepicier.co.uk

Compagnie des vins Surnaturels

I first discovered this wonderful place when I was searching out London’s best Croque Madame. Initially lured by the ‘Posh Madame’ (the classic only with truffle ham and quail’s egg – words cannot describe!) I now return when I want to treat myself with a glass of beautiful wine. One of the best things about Compagnie des vins Surnaturels is the list of wines they serve by the glass. An option to suit every pocket (including the very deep ones!) it is easy to while a couple of happy hours away in Neals Yard, forgetting that you are in one of London’s busiest tourist hot spots.

IMG_3968
A crisp glass of Sancerre on a spring afternoon

http://www.cvssevendials.com

I really hope you have enjoyed this tour of French London. There are many more places I love that haven’t made it onto the list so look out for a part two later this year. If you have any recommendations I would love to hear them!

Leave a comment